Community Day – Edgarton University

Friday saw us at Edgarton University, and holding some sessions with the Computer Science students.  A topic close to my own heart.  The turn out was fantastic, bearing in mind it was volountary.  We looked relaxed but cool in our Smarter Planet t-shirts.

The CSC Boys smartly modeling our team Smarter Planet t-shirts

Me and the IBM Smarter Planet banner we had on stage

We ran a number of sessions on key trends (I did BAO): BAO, Social Analytics, Cloud…..and then focussed on on soft skills and innovation.

I kicked off with a classic to introduce soft skills – how may legs has the elephant got?  This brought forward a number of answers – but in short, the point proven – people see things differently and we need to embrace this and work with it.

The students were attentive, passionate and really wanted to do something with their lives.  A fabulous campus – a hell of a lot better than good old Pompey Uni as those of you who went there with me will know – very green, maintained and a great environment to learn.

Well done the students, well done team, and well done IBM and DOT.  I have to see the CSC team really came into their own here.  I’ve discovered I could do this kind of thing all the time.  Some of them thought it was ‘cool’ that I was a woman doing what I do with the technical background and Computer Science BSc.  Cue new contacts and facebook friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Community Day – Edgarton University

  1. Bill says:

    So just how many legs does an elephant have? I am surprised that there is any doubt. Maybe I am missing something.
    So glad you all made an impact. Encouraging everyone to achieve their best is a fantastic thing to do. It is great that they seem to treasure their education far more than we do. Keep it up!

Leave a comment